Six Sigma is a carefully designed set of tools and techniques of Quality Management that helps to improve processes within an organization. The primary goal of the Six Sigma certification is to validate individuals who possess the skills to identify errors or defects in a business process and eliminate them.

Goal of Six Sigma: 

The Six Sigma method aims for a process to be 99.99996 % defect free. In other words, a process results in 3.4 defects per million opportunities or less.


  1. Help Your Organization Eliminate Errors
  2. Improve Business Processes and Sustain Quality Improvement
  3. Applicability Across Industries
  4. Ensure Compliance
  5. Helps Nurture Managerial And Leadership Ability
  6. Excellent Salary
  7. Gain Hands-On Experience In Quality Management
  8. Customer Satisfaction
  9. Improve bottom line
  10. Better partnerships

The Five Steps of Six Sigma


Problem solving in Six Sigma is done using the DMAIC framework. There are five stages in this framework. They are Define, Measure, Analyse, Improve, Control. True believers and practitioners in the Six Sigma method follow this approach. It is a statistically driven methodology that users learn through Six Sigma certification or companies implement as a mental framework for business process improvement.

The Six Sigma certification comes in various skill levels: Yellow Belt, Green Belt, Black Belt, and Master Black Belt.

A Six Sigma Green Belt is an individual who works on projects either as a team member for complex projects, or as a project leader for simpler projects. Most managers in a mature Six Sigma organization are green belts.  Green Belt certification is a critical prerequisite for advancement into upper management in a Six Sigma organization. Managers act as Green Belts for their entire careers. In complicated Six Sigma projects, green belts work closely with the team leader (black belt) to keep the team functioning and progressing through the various stages of the Six Sigma project.

A Six Sigma Yellow Belt is an individual who has passed the Green Belt certification examination but has not yet completed a Six Sigma project.

A Six Sigma Black Belt is a full-time change agent and improvement leader who may not be an expert in the process under study.

Master Black Belt takes on a leadership roles as keeper of the Six Sigma process, advisor to executives or business unit managers, and leverages, his/her skills with projects that are led by black belts and green belts. Frequently, master black belts report directly to senior executives or business unit managers.

If you are considering working towards your Six Sigma exam, GVS Technosoft offers a variety of Quality Management courses that will help you pass, including the Six Sigma Certification Training Course. We have included ITILITSMPMP and PRINCE2 to improve multiple business processes. Many of our clients have consulted on their project enhancement and work efficiency improvement.

For more information, Visit

Article by GVS Technosoft | | ph: +91 40-65286529


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *